Landed in the Land Down Under

Well, after nearly 35 hours of travel, we arrived this morning safely and without complications in Sydney! These last few days have been some of the longest of my life… We woke up at 3am (EST) on Wednesday and travelled straight through until 6am (Sydney time) on Friday the 4th. I’m not really sure what happened to Thursday… I think we only got about three hours of that on the plane before we jumped forward in time. But what’s important is that we did finally arrive!

Today was rainy and a bit nasty, but Zak had an interview in the city, so Brit and I joined him on the train and explored a bit for two hours or so on our own. We only circled a small radius of a few blocks, but if the rest of the city is anything like what we saw then I can’t wait to go back. One of the first things I noticed was how friendly everyone is here – and I seriously mean everyone! Despite the rain, it was a really pleasant afternoon. The time change is taking a toll on us, though. Brit and I both passed out – and I mean some serious deep sleep – for 2 hours around 4:00. Right now, It’s only 10pm and we’re prepping to sleep. I’m actually having quite a difficult time keeping my eyes open, so I think I’m going to fold up the computer for the night and get to bed myself. Like I said, it’s been quite a long and exhausting past couple of days, and some shut-eye is well deserved!

3 thoughts on “Landed in the Land Down Under

    1. It’s fantastic!! It was beautiful even in the gloomy weather, I can’t even imagine what it will be like on a sunny day… we already have a lot planned for the next 3 weeks, and I was promised that I’d get to hold a koala bear at some point, so the future is looking good!

Leave a Reply

